Ready for new perspectives
Success is all about growing others

Talent Management Index®

The basis of the Talent Management Index® is the concept of Organizational Maturity – along the maturity levels of organisations. The model assumes that professionally managed organisations go through consciously created development levels in order to cope with external and internal challenges. This successive perfection is specifically and strategy-oriented shaped by the ones responsible.

The Talent Management Index® was adapted to our basic model. It underlies the normative approach that an organisation with a strategic approach is more mature than an organisation that reacts intuitively. This systematic measures therefore the quality of the strategic alignment of Talent Management. The results thereby become directly comparable.

The Index is the result of a questionnaire which consists of a mix of qualitative and specific quantitative elements. The fundamental structure lies on three dimensions of Talent Management: Strategy, Operations and Methodology. Each dimension is characterised by different individual elements (14 in total) which in turn are respectively divided into four maturity levels: 

Maturity Level 1: the element is used intuitively, on a trial-and-error basis and variably in different situations
Maturity Level  2: rules and regulations for a standardised approach exists, nevertheless the implementation does not (yet) seem to be consistent 
Maturity Level  3: the element is consistently managed and optimised
Maturity Level  4: the element is strategic, future-oriented and aligned

 

In general we can conclude that the large number and heterogeneity of the participants of our study allows us to give a good overview of Talent Management concepts, instruments and methods. Our sample includes about 80% of the SMI-, DAX- and ATX-enterprises as well as further selected organisations.

The feedback by our interview partners also very critical reports consistently confirm the validity of our measurement instrument. The identified Indices are considered as informative and accurate when evaluating their Talent Management concepts.

Framework of the Maturity Levels in Talent Management

Beschreibung

The Maturity Level Model in Talent Management in detail (extract)

Beschreibung

Ready for new perspectives
The only limit to our realisation of tomorrow is our doubt of today

Talent Management Index®

Basis des Talent Management Index® bildet das Konzept der Organizational Maturity – der Reifegrad von Organisationen. Das Modell geht davon aus, dass professionell gemanagte Organisationen bewusst gestaltete Entwicklungsstufen zur Bewältigung externer (Markt, Kunden, Wettbewerber etc.) und interner Herausforderungen „durchlaufen“. Diese schrittweise Perfektionierung wird von den Verantwortlichen gezielt und strategiegeleitet gestaltet.

Der Talent Management Index® wurde auf dieses Grundmodell hin adaptiert. Er weist einen normativen Zugang in dem Sinne auf, dass „strategisch ausgerichtet“ einem höheren Reifegrad entspricht als „inkremental/situativ“. Die Systematik misst somit die Qualität in der strategischen Ausrichtung des Talent Management. Damit werden die Ergebnisse unmittelbar vergleichbar.

Der Index ist Resultat eines Fragenkatalogs, der sich aus einem Mix von qualitativen und quantitativen Elementen zusammensetzt. Die Grundstruktur bilden die Dimensionen strategisches, operatives und methodisch/instrumentelles Talent Management. Jede Dimension ist durch unterschiedliche Einzelelemente (insgesamt 14) charakterisiert, welche jeweils in vier Reifegrade der Professionalisierung unterteilt werden:

Reifegrad 1: das Element wird in der Organisation situativ unterschiedlich eingesetzt
Reifegrad 2: es liegen eigentlich Regeln für eine standardisierte Vorgehensweise vor, die Umsetzung erfolgt aber (noch) nicht immer einheitlich
Reifegrad 3: das Element wird konsequent gemanaged und optimiert
Reifegrad 4: das Element ist strategisch, zukunftsorientiert ausgerichtet

 

Grundsätzlich können wir festhalten, dass die große Zahl und die Unterschiedlichkeit der an unserer Studie teilnehmenden Unternehmen einen guten Überblick über Talent Management-Konzepte, -Instrumente und –Methoden erlauben. Unser Sample umfasst knapp 80 % der SMI-, DAX und ATX-Unternehmen sowie ausgewählte weitere Organisationen.

Die Rückmeldungen unserer Interviewpartner – auch auf sehr kritische Befunde – bestätigen durchgängig die Aussagekraft unseres Messinstruments. Die ermittelten Indizes werden von den beteiligten Organisationen als inhaltsreiche und zutreffende Größen zur Bewertung ihres Talent Management-Konzepts angesehen.

Grundaufbau des Reifegradmodells im Talent Management

Beschreibung

Das Reifegradmodell im Talent Management im Detail (Auszug)

Beschreibung